Description
The LOVEPETPAL XP-20 is a handheld ultrasonic deterrent in orange, built around a 1000 milliamp hour cell that the manufacturer says gives up to 90 days of use from a three hour charge. That battery figure is the strongest thing on the listing, and it is a real point of difference in a category where most units publish nothing about power at all.
The listing also promises an HD display in the product title and then never mentions it again. Below is what LOVEPETPAL states, the safety feature worth having, the claims worth discounting, and the specification that is simply missing.
What LOVEPETPAL states
The manufacturer describes three training modes, presented as a bark collar, a whistle and a clicker combined in one device, aimed at barking, digging, chewing, jumping, biting and chasing. There is a 10 second automatic shutoff described as protecting the dog's hearing. A built in LED flashlight is included for night walks.
Power is a 1000 milliamp hour rechargeable cell, charged over Type-C, with a stated three hour charge giving up to 90 days of use. Unit weight is 5.3 ounces. The box contains the device, a manual, a Type-C cable and a wrist strap. Model is XP-20.
The ten second cutoff is the feature to buy for
An automatic shutoff after ten seconds of continuous operation is the single most important welfare feature in this category, and it is worth understanding why. Without one, a frustrated owner can hold a button down on a dog that is not responding, which is not training and is the scenario where an ultrasonic device does actual harm.
The common complaint about cutoffs, that they interrupt a correction, misunderstands the tool. This is a marker, not a punishment held until compliance. Point, give a command, press briefly, then reward the moment the dog breaks off. If ten seconds is not enough, the answer is not a longer press; it is that the device is not working on that dog. LOVEPETPAL builds the limit in, and so do the better competitors, including the DomiDoni Alpha Pro at eight seconds.
It is not a bark collar and the copy should not say it is
The listing describes the device as giving you a bark collar, a whistle and a clicker in one. Two of those are accurate. A whistle and a clicker are handheld signalling tools, which is exactly what this is. A bark collar is not: it is worn, it detects the dog's own bark, and it works when nobody is home.
This matters because the most common barking complaint is noise while the house is empty, and no handheld device addresses it. Anyone buying to stop barking during the working day is buying the wrong category. That job belongs to a worn device such as the DogRook beep and vibration collar, with all the fitting and welfare responsibilities that carries, or more usefully to changing what triggers the barking in the first place.
The HD display is claimed and never described
The product title reads anti barking device with HD display and LED flashlight. Nothing in the five feature bullets mentions a display. Nothing in the specification block mentions a display. There is no statement of what it shows: battery level, mode, volume, something else.
A screen on a handheld deterrent is a plausible and useful feature, most obviously for showing which mode is selected and how much charge remains. But a feature that appears only in a title is a feature that has not been described, and buyers should not pay a premium for it or assume what it does. The specification block is thin elsewhere too: the directions field contains the single character 1, and the size field reads M, which is a clothing size applied to a torch shaped object.
Ninety days, and what the battery claim actually means
A 1000 milliamp hour cell and a stated 90 days of use is the headline number, and it needs reading carefully. Ninety days is not ninety days of operation. It is the interval between charges under some assumed pattern of use that the listing never describes, most likely a handful of short presses a day plus standby.
That is still genuinely useful. The most common reason a training device stops being used is that it is flat when it is wanted, and a unit that survives a season between charges gets carried. Compare that against units in the same shelf quoting 60 days from smaller cells, and the XP-20 has a real advantage for anyone who forgets to plug things in.
The torch changes the maths though. LED output draws far more current than a brief ultrasonic pulse, and an owner using the flashlight on every evening walk through winter will not see anything like 90 days. Treat the figure as a best case for the deterrent function alone. Type-C charging at least means the cable is the same one that charges everything else in the house, which is a small practical point that matters more than it sounds.
What the listing does not establish
The ultrasonic frequency is not stated. Not a band, not a figure, nowhere. For an ultrasonic device that is the defining specification, and competitors at the same price publish it. Sound pressure level is not stated either, so neither pitch nor loudness is known.
The effective range is not stated, which decides whether this is a same room tool or a garden tool. Water resistance is not rated. No minimum dog age is given, unlike several competitors that exclude dogs under six months. The three modes are not individually described beyond the collar, whistle and clicker analogy. The basis for the 90 day figure is not given, so whether that is standby or use is unclear. And the claim of remarkable results quickly is marketing language with nothing behind it.
Who it suits, and who should choose something else
This suits an owner who wants a handheld unit that will not need charging often, values the built in cutoff, and treats the device as a marker paired with a verbal command rather than a fix. The 1000 milliamp hour cell is a genuine advantage for anyone who has abandoned a previous device because it was always flat, and the torch earns its keep on a dark walk.
Choose something else if the frequency matters to the decision, because this listing does not publish one and the FRIENGOOD QG-05 and the HeeNzz TZ-U36 sit at similar money. Choose something else if the dog is very young or elderly, since no age guidance exists. Choose something else if the barking happens while nobody is home. And expect what the category can actually deliver: a tone that some dogs respond to and some ignore entirely, with results that vary widely. The rest of the comparison is on our sonic repellent shelf and the wider handheld deterrent listing.










