Description
The AutoSky APU-100 takes a slightly different approach from most handheld deterrents. Instead of one emitter pointed forward it uses three, arranged to project sound from multiple directions, on the reasoning that a dog does not have to be squarely in the beam for the tone to reach it. Made by Promaster Electronic LLC, it publishes an actual frequency band, which puts it ahead of much of the shelf.
It also carries a battery specification that cannot be right and a weight figure that disagrees with its own marketing. Below is what AutoSky states, what contradicts, and the honest expectation for any device of this type.
What AutoSky specifies
The manufacturer describes three ultrasonic emitters projecting from multiple directions, and two adjustable ultrasonic modes with frequencies ranging from 23 to 30 kilohertz, selectable according to the dog's sensitivity and behaviour. There is an automatic shutoff after 10 seconds of continuous use, stated as a protection against overstimulation.
A wrist strap is included for carrying, and a built in LED flashlight is described as helping with night time use and redirecting attention. The colour is orange and black, model APU-100, and the box contains the device, a USB cable and a user manual. First listed in December 2024.
The published frequency band is the reason to consider it
A stated 23 to 30 kilohertz range is genuinely useful information and a lot of competitors do not provide it. Dogs hear well above the human ceiling, and the band matters: a device fixed at a single frequency invites habituation, which is the standard reason ultrasonic deterrents stop working after a fortnight. Two selectable modes across that range at least give a way to change the stimulus.
What frequency does not tell you is intensity. A tone at 25 kilohertz can be barely perceptible or genuinely startling depending on how much energy is behind it, and no sound pressure figure is published here or anywhere else in this category. So the band is helpful for judging habituation risk and useless for judging how strong the effect will be.
Battery and weight, two fields that do not add up
The specification block records one P76 battery required, included. The product title says portable rechargeable trainer, and the box contains a USB cable. A P76 designation refers to a small zinc air cell of the type used in hearing aids, which is neither rechargeable nor plausible as the power source for a device with three emitters and an LED torch.
Something is wrong in that field, and the likeliest explanation is the same importer pattern seen across this catalogue: a field populated with data that belongs to a different product. The presence of a USB cable in the stated box contents points to an internal rechargeable cell, but nothing on the listing confirms its capacity, its chemistry or whether it is user replaceable. Anyone budgeting for consumables should resolve this before ordering rather than after.
One bullet states the unit weighs approximately 5 ounces. The specification block records 6.7 ounces. Both cannot describe the same object, and the higher figure probably includes packaging. Item dimensions of 5.75 by 3.15 by 2.17 inches sit within package dimensions of 5.91 by 3.07 by 2.2 inches, which is another sign that the item field is measuring a carton rather than a device.
This is not a serious problem for a handheld tool, since either figure is light enough to carry. It is one more example of why the specification block on these listings has to be treated as a starting point rather than a source of truth, and why the numbers that matter most are usually the ones missing entirely.
Three emitters, and whether the arrangement helps
The design argument is straightforward. A single emitter is directional, so a device with one has to be aimed, and a dog that is off axis or facing away may not receive much. Three emitters spread the output across a wider arc, which reduces how precisely the user has to point.
That is a sensible response to a real problem, since aiming a small handheld unit at a moving dog under stress is harder than it sounds. What it does not do is increase total output. Splitting energy across three emitters spreads it rather than multiplying it, so a wider arc generally means less intensity in any one direction than a single focused emitter would deliver.
Without a published sound pressure figure there is no way to know where this unit lands on that trade off. The honest reading is that three emitters make the device more forgiving to use and no more powerful, which is a reasonable design choice for a consumer product but not the leap the marketing implies.
What the listing does not establish
The effective range is not stated. Not in feet, not in metres, not at all. That is the single most important operational number for a handheld deterrent, because it decides whether this is a same room tool or a garden tool, and competitors including the DomiDoni Alpha Pro and the HeeNzz TZ-U36 both publish a figure.
Sound pressure level is not stated. Battery capacity, charge time and runtime are not stated. Water resistance is not rated, which matters for something carried on walks. No minimum dog age is given, unlike several competitors that exclude dogs under six months. The difference between the two ultrasonic modes is not explained beyond the frequency range. Flashlight output and flash behaviour are not described. Warranty is recorded only as manufacturer's warranty, with no term.
What a handheld deterrent can honestly do
It emits a tone that a dog may or may not respond to. Published owner feedback across this whole category, including devices with three emitters, reports both clear reactions and complete indifference, and the variation tracks with breed, age, hearing and how the device is used rather than with emitter count.
The 10 second cutoff is a real welfare feature, and the frequent complaint about it, that training gets interrupted, is a misunderstanding of what the tool does. It is a marker, not a punishment held down until compliance. Point, give a command, press briefly, reward the break in behaviour. A tone held on a dog for ten continuous seconds is not training and the cutoff exists to prevent it. Nothing here works while the house is empty, which is the barking scenario most buyers actually have.
Who it suits, and who should choose something else
This suits an owner who wants a handheld deterrent with a published frequency band and a stated cutoff, at the budget end, and who will use it as a marker attached to a command. The three emitter arrangement is a sensible design response to the aiming problem, and the torch earns its place on winter walks. It is a low commitment purchase.
Choose something else if range matters, because this listing does not publish one. Choose something else if the power source needs to be understood before purchase, given the battery field is plainly wrong. Choose something else if the dog is very young or old, since no age guidance is offered. And choose something else if the barking happens when nobody is home, which points to a worn device such as the DogRook collar or to fixing the underlying trigger. The rest of the comparison sits on our sonic bark deterrent shelf and the wider handheld repellent listing.













