Description
Bocce's Bakery sells this 5 ounce bag as a birthday biscuit, which is a marketing frame around a very short recipe. Five ingredients: oat flour, peanut butter, carob, vanilla and molasses. Twelve calories per treat. Wheat, corn and soy free, with no artificial ingredients or preservatives, baked in the United States.
A short ingredient list and a published calorie figure are the two things that make a treat easy to use responsibly, and this listing has both. That is rarer than it should be. Below is what Bocce's states, why the calorie number matters more than the birthday framing, and which fields in the specification block have gone wrong.
What Bocce's states
The manufacturer describes a simply sweet, crunchy biscuit, made with five ingredients and containing about 12 calories per treat. The recipe is stated as wheat, corn and soy free with no artificial ingredients or preservatives, made with ingredients sourced in the United States local to the bakeries. Pack size is 5 ounces. The feeding direction is one line: feed as a treat, as part of a healthy diet.
The brand story is on the listing too, a West Village kitchen, a mixer, an oven and a dog called Bocce. That is charm rather than specification, but the small batch framing is consistent with the short recipe and the modest pack size.
The calorie figure is the useful part
Twelve calories per treat turns a vague guideline into arithmetic. The standard advice is that treats stay under ten percent of daily calories. A 20 pound moderately active dog needs roughly 400 to 500 calories a day, so ten percent is 40 to 50 calories, which is three or four of these biscuits. A 60 pound dog has room for eight or nine. That is a genuinely usable number and most treat listings do not give one.
It also puts the birthday framing in perspective. These are low enough in calories to be an everyday biscuit rather than an occasion treat, which the brand acknowledges by describing them as suitable for everyday treating. The occasion is packaging. The product is a small oat biscuit.
Wheat free is not the same as gluten free
This distinction is worth stating carefully because the listing invites the wrong conclusion. Bocce's says wheat, corn and soy free, and it says exactly that rather than gluten free. The base is oat flour. Oats do not contain wheat gluten, but oats are commonly grown, harvested and milled alongside wheat, and cross contact is normal unless a producer specifically controls for it. No such control is claimed here.
For the great majority of dogs this is irrelevant. Wheat sensitivity in dogs is usually a reaction to protein sources rather than a coeliac style response, and food allergy in dogs is far more often driven by animal proteins than by grains. But if a dog is on a veterinary elimination diet, wheat free on a label is not clearance, and the treat should be cleared with the vet rather than assumed safe. For dogs that need a genuinely single ingredient option, a dried protein such as plain beef liver removes the question entirely.
Carob, peanut butter and what is safe here
Carob is in this recipe for a specific reason: it looks and behaves like chocolate in baking and it is not chocolate. Chocolate contains theobromine, which dogs metabolise slowly and which is toxic to them. Carob contains none. So a biscuit that looks like it has chocolate in it is doing the sensible thing rather than the reckless one, and that is worth knowing for anyone who sees a dark speckled dog biscuit and worries.
Peanut butter is the other ingredient to be deliberate about. Peanut butter is fine for dogs. Xylitol, a sweetener used in some human peanut butters, is dangerously toxic to them. This is a dog product from a dog brand and there is no reason to expect xylitol in it, but the habit worth building is checking, because the risk comes from human jars kept in the same cupboard rather than from products like this one.
Four specification fields have gone wrong
Age range description is recorded as Baby, which is a human product taxonomy applied to a dog biscuit and means nothing here. Material is recorded as Peanut Butter, Molasses and Vanilla, which is an ingredient list sitting in a materials field. Colour is recorded as White, which these biscuits are not.
The one that matters is specific uses, recorded as Allergy Relief, Appetite Stimulation, Behavior, Sensitive Stomach, Training. Allergy relief is a health claim, and nothing on the label supports it. A wheat free biscuit is not an allergy treatment. Read that field as importer generated category tagging, not as anything Bocce's has claimed, because the brand's own copy is careful and makes no such statement. Item dimensions of 7.88 by 3.5 by 6.38 inches against package dimensions of 7.68 by 4.76 by 2.21 inches are two measurements of the bag rather than of a biscuit.
What the listing does not establish
The number of biscuits in a 5 ounce bag is not stated, so cost per treat cannot be worked out before buying. The size of an individual biscuit is not given, which matters for portioning to a small dog and for anyone worried about a crunchy treat and worn teeth. There is no guaranteed analysis and no protein or fat percentage.
Whether the bag is resealable is not stated, which matters for a preservative free baked product that will go stale. Shelf life is not given. And the hardness is described only as crunchy, which is not enough to judge suitability for a dog with dental disease or missing teeth; a soft alternative such as Buddy Biscuits Softies is the safer route for those dogs.
Who it suits, and who should choose something else
This suits a household that wants a short ingredient everyday biscuit with a published calorie count, for a dog with good teeth and no peanut sensitivity. Twelve calories makes it usable for training as well as rewarding, and 5 ounces is the right size for a preservative free product that should be eaten before it goes stale. The absence of artificial preservatives is a real feature and the reason not to buy a bigger bag.
Choose something else if the dog has a peanut allergy, since peanut butter is the second ingredient. Choose something else if the dog cannot manage crunch. And choose something else if the dog is on a veterinary elimination diet, because wheat free is not a clearance and no allergen control is claimed. For a similar crunchy biscuit at supermarket scale, the Milk-Bone dipped honey biscuits cover the same ground in a much larger pack, and both sit on our dog treats and biscuits shelf alongside the softer options on the general treats listing.













