Description
NutriChomps is Scott Pet's answer to rawhide: a braided chew built from oven roasted chicken and pork skin, wrapped with a flavour layer, sold four to a bag in a 6 inch braid. The braid shape is the design idea, giving a dog something with texture and give rather than a smooth pressed sheet.
What lifts this listing above most of the shelf is the feeding direction, which is one of the most complete and genuinely useful pieces of guidance in this catalogue. Below is what the manufacturer states, the sizing rule that matters more than anything else on the page, and what the specification block gets wrong.
What NutriChomps states
The manufacturer describes a 100 percent rawhide free chew, highly digestible and completely edible, made with oven roasted chicken and pork skin along with real milk or peanut butter, and fortified with 7 essential vitamins and minerals. Flavours are given as real chicken, peanut butter and milk. The bag is stated to be resealable. Size is 4 count, breed recommendation is medium breeds, and the model number is DT852BV.
Three specific nutrients are named in the product description: vitamin E, described as supporting circulatory health, manganese sulfate for nervous system function, and riboflavin for skin, eyes and abdomen. Those are the manufacturer's framings of standard nutrients rather than claims that have been evaluated, and they should be read that way.
The feeding direction is the best on this shelf
It deserves quoting in full because it covers every risk this product carries. As with all treats and chews, supervise use. Nutri Chomps are intended as a treat not food. Recommended size is slightly larger than your pet's mouth. Remove any broken or small pieces that may pose a swallowing hazard. Calories from treats or chews should be 10 percent or less of a dog's daily calorie requirement. Always provide fresh drinking water.
The sizing rule is the important one and it is frequently ignored. A chew slightly larger than the mouth cannot be swallowed whole, which is the entire mechanism of a chew being safe. A 6 inch braid meets that for a medium dog and does not meet it for a large one, which is why the listing specifies medium breeds. The instruction to remove broken pieces is the other half: a braid that has been worked apart produces short strands, and short strands are what get swallowed.
There is pork in a product marketed on chicken
The product title leads on real chicken. The description states the braids are made with oven roasted chicken and pork skin. Pork skin is not a minor addition here; it is named alongside chicken as a primary component.
For most dogs this is irrelevant. For a household avoiding pork for dietary, religious or allergy reasons, it is the single most important fact on the listing and it appears in the small print rather than the headline. Anyone shopping for a poultry only chew should look elsewhere, and a single protein option such as a plain beef bully stick or a turkey tendon removes the ambiguity entirely.
Rawhide free is a real difference and a partial one
The concern with rawhide is specific: it is a processed hide that softens and swells, and a dog that tears off a sheet and swallows it can end up with an obstruction. A formulated chew that breaks down in digestion addresses that particular mechanism, and that is the honest case for this category.
What it does not remove is the general risk of any chew. A piece short enough to swallow is a choking risk regardless of what it is made from. A dog that gulps rather than chews can still obstruct. And a formulated chew is calorie dense, which is why the listing sets a ten percent ceiling. Rawhide free is a meaningful improvement on one axis, not a licence to leave a dog unsupervised with a chew. The same brand comparison worth making is against SmartBones mini sticks, which make an almost identical argument in a smaller size.
Four braids, and how often one should be given
Four chews is a small pack, and how long it lasts depends entirely on the pattern of use. A braid given every evening is four days. Given two or three times a week, which is a more sensible rhythm for a calorie dense formulated chew, it is closer to a fortnight. The manufacturer's ten percent ceiling implies the second pattern rather than the first.
Pacing matters for a second reason. A chew works best as an occupier when it is an event rather than a routine, and a dog that gets one every night stops treating it as special. Saved for the moments the household actually needs twenty quiet minutes, a visitor arriving, a meal being eaten, a phone call, it earns its price and its calories.
The resealable bag is a stated feature, which is more than most listings confirm, and it matters for a chew with a flavour coating. Keep it sealed and dry, in a cool cupboard rather than above the oven. A braid that has gone soft with humidity is both less satisfying to chew and more likely to come apart into the short pieces the feeding direction warns about.
What the listing does not establish
Calories are not stated, which is awkward given the listing itself sets a rule expressed in calories. Without that figure the ten percent ceiling cannot be applied. The diameter of a braid is not given, only the 6 inch length, and diameter is what determines both duration and whether the sizing rule is met for a given dog.
The full ingredient panel is not published. Seven vitamins and minerals are claimed but only three are named, and none are quantified. There is no guaranteed analysis. Country of origin is not stated. The specification block records material as Plastic, which describes the bag, and item dimensions of 8.5 by 1.5 by 8.5 inches, which describes nothing. There are also two identifiers on the page, model name NT015V and item model number DT852BV, so a support request has two possible references.
Who it suits, and who should choose something else
This suits a medium sized dog and an owner who wants a rawhide alternative in a shape that lasts longer than a biscuit, and who will follow the sizing and supervision guidance. Four braids is a small pack, which suits trying the product rather than committing, and the resealable bag is a stated feature rather than an assumption. The flavour range gives options for a fussy dog.
Choose something else if the dog is small, because a 6 inch braid does not meet the manufacturer's own sizing rule for a small mouth and the pieces that break off are the hazard. Choose something else if the dog is large and a strong chewer, since a braid will be gone quickly and a denser chew such as a water buffalo cheek roll is built for that jaw. Choose something else if pork is being avoided. And remember that this is a treat, not food, which is the manufacturer's own wording. The rest of the shelf sits on our dog treats and chews listing.













