Description
Blue Buffalo True Chews are a soft, tearable dog treat sold in a 12 oz bag under model number 804592, in a chicken and apple sausage recipe. The word sausage is doing marketing work rather than describing a casing product; what arrives is a pliable strip meant to be pulled apart. Amazon files it under Cookies, Biscuits and Snacks, which is a human food category name applied to a pet product. This is a dog treat.
This is one of the better documented listings in the category, which is worth saying because most of the treat aisle is not. There is a full feeding table by dog weight, a stated ingredient exclusion list, and a stated country of manufacture. That still leaves real gaps, and they are set out further down.
What the label states
Real chicken is named as the first ingredient. The recipe is stated to contain no artificial preservatives, no corn, no wheat and no soy, and no chicken or poultry by product meals. The product is stated to be made in the USA. The treats are described as tender and chewy and easy to tear into smaller pieces, which is the practical property that makes them work as a training reward rather than a chew.
The manufacturer publishes a feeding table rather than leaving it vague, and it is restrictive: half a treat per day for a dog of 5 to 10 lb, one per day at 11 to 25 lb, two per day at 26 to 50 lb, and three per day above 50 lb. That is a daily allowance, not a session allowance, and it is easy to blow through in ten minutes of recall work. If the treat is going to be used as a training currency rather than an evening reward, the sensible reading is that the day's ration gets torn into small pieces and spread across the session.
Texture, and why it decides the use case
Soft and tearable is the whole point. A treat that can be reduced to a fingernail sized piece lets you reward frequently without overfeeding, and it can be eaten and swallowed fast enough that the dog is back looking at you rather than chewing. It also suits dogs with worn or missing teeth, and older dogs that have stopped enjoying hard biscuits.
The same property is the limitation. This will not occupy a dog. There is no meaningful chew time, so it does nothing for a dog that needs a job for twenty minutes, and it does not do the mechanical scraping that a firm chew does. Owner reviews commonly report that soft treats of this style dry out once the bag has been open a while, which brings us to the packaging.
The listing does not state that the bag reseals. For a soft, moisture bearing treat in a 12 oz bag, that matters more than it would for a dry biscuit, because the texture that makes the product useful is the first thing to go once air gets in. If it turns out not to reseal, an airtight container solves it, and it is a small enough issue that it should not decide the purchase, but it is worth knowing before the bag is opened rather than after.
The importer data on this listing is wrong
One field on this listing is worth flagging plainly rather than smoothing over. The item dimensions are recorded as 3 by 9 by 10.5 inches, and the package dimensions as 9.92 by 7.91 by 2.68 inches. Neither describes a treat. The first is the bag, the second is the shipping carton, and they disagree with each other about which is which. No individual treat dimension is published anywhere on the listing. If you need to know how big one piece is before ordering, the listing cannot tell you, and any site that quotes you a treat size from this data is quoting a bag.
What the listing does not establish
There is no calorie figure per treat, which is the number the feeding table implicitly depends on. There is no guaranteed analysis, so protein and fat content are unstated. The full ingredient panel is not reproduced, only the exclusions, so an owner avoiding a specific ingredient can confirm what is absent from a short list but not what is present. Apple appears in the recipe name and its proportion is not stated.
Made in the USA is stated for manufacture; the listing does not state where every ingredient is sourced, and those are different questions. There is also no shelf life, no storage instruction and no statement of how long the product keeps once opened. Nothing on the listing supports a health claim of any kind beyond the ingredient exclusions themselves.
Safety notes that apply regardless
Treats sit on top of a complete diet and should stay a small share of daily intake. Introduce a new protein over several days rather than all at once. Supervise, particularly with a dog that swallows rather than chews, and remove any piece that has been carried off to be worked on in private. If your dog is on a restricted diet or being managed for a food sensitivity, the incomplete ingredient panel here is a reason to check with a vet before switching, not a detail to skip. And if the reason for treating is medication rather than reward, a purpose built pouch such as Greenies Pill Pockets is the more sensible tool than wrapping a tablet in a soft sausage.
How it compares with the alternatives we cover
As a training reward its nearest competitor in our coverage is the Bil-Jac liver morsel, which is sold in a resealable double zipper pouch and is smaller per piece, so it needs less tearing. For an owner who wants a single ingredient product with a fully knowable recipe, the dehydrated chicken chip is the cleaner answer, at the cost of a crunchy texture that is harder for old teeth. If what is actually wanted is something to occupy the dog rather than reward it, look at the bully stick shelf instead; it is a different product class doing a different job.
Who it suits
This suits an owner who wants a soft, high value reward that can be broken down small, and who cares about the exclusion list: no corn, wheat, soy, artificial preservatives or poultry by product meals. It suits senior dogs and dogs with dental wear that struggle with hard biscuits. It suits a household that will actually respect the published feeding amounts rather than treating the bag as bottomless.
Choose something else if you want a chew, because there is nothing here to chew on. Choose something else if you need a full guaranteed analysis to manage a diet, because it is not published. And if budget across several dogs is the constraint, a bulk single ingredient product from the wider treats section will go further per pound than a premium soft treat sold in a 12 oz bag.













